Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following links are a few OER Collections that can help you get started. They are searchable by subject area and include licensing and use information. If you are unable to find what you need, please contact email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org for further assistance.
OER Commons is a searchable collection of resources curated by librarians. Each resource provides a user rating and clear instructions for conditions of use.
The Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Lumen provides high quality open courseware and support for educational institutions to help them eliminate textbook costs, broaden access to educational materials and improve student success through the effective use of open-educational resources (OER).
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware is a Creative Commons licensed web-based publication of MIT course content including lecture notes, exams, and videos.
Khan Academy's video library includes collection of free video tutorials in the subject areas of math, biology, chemistry, physics, the humanities, finance and history
Open Textbook Options
E-textbooks in this collection from Rice University are peer-reviewed, openly licensed, and 100% free. Print versions are available at a low cost. Subject areas include math, science, social sciences, and the humanities.
Open Textbook Library
A collection of open textbooks organized by the Open Textbook Network, a network of higher education institutions. Textbooks are reviewed by faculty for quality and are free to download and low-cost to print.
Free, high-quality ebooks, many of which are now in the public domain due to copyright term expiration.
BC Campus Open Textbook Project
A collection of open textbooks aligned with the top 40 highest-enrolled subject areas in British Columbia. View a full list of the subject areas with links to textbooks on the BC Open Campus website.
Open Book Publishers
Open scholarly monographs available for free PDF download or to purchase in print. Titles are mainly in the humanities but other subjects are included.
OER Presentation at the Library - April 2017