Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Center for Teaching @ NVCC: Professional Journals

NV Search

Periodical Databases

The following databases provide access to research material on the teaching profession from academic journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and books.  

Database Tips

  • Click "full text" for results that will have full text articles.
  • If you are only looking for scholarly peer-reviewed articles you can limit your search results by checking the "full text" and "peer-reviewed" boxes.
  • Use an asterisk (*) or a question mark (?) to truncate a word.  For example: searching for compute* will find compute, computer, computers, and computed. Some databases use the *, some use the ?, check the Help screen to determine which method is used
  • When reading an article you can print, email, and save it as well as get a citation in the correct format by clicking a button!  Watch a tutorial or ask a librarian for help.
  • When the full text of an article is not available online, the citation can be used to locate the article locally or through InterLibrary Loan.
  • Searching but not finding? You may need additional/alternate words, and/or another combination of words for your search.  Sometimes using a thesaurus or subject-specific glossary can help.  Here is where your friendly librarian might be your best resource!